Awoonga Dam is classified as a referable dam with a category 2 Failure Impact Category (for both Sunny Day and Flood Consequence failures) under the Water Supply (Safety and Reliability) Act 2008.

GAWB must ensure that Awoonga Dam complies with the Queensland Guidelines on Acceptable Flood Capacity (AFC) for Water Dams 2019.

The Acceptable Flood Capacity (AFC) upgrade requirements of the Awoonga Dam are

  • Stage 1 – 25% of the AFC upgrade by 1 October 2015 (completed)
  • Stage 2 – 65% of the AFC upgrade by 1 October 2025; and
  • Stage 3 – 100% of the AFC upgrade by 1 October 2035.

GAWB’s intent is to deliver the full scope for the Acceptable Flood Capacity (AFC) requirements as per Queensland Guidelines in three (3) separate projects of an overall program of works to achieve 100% compliance over multiple phases by October 2035.

See the project here.

Project Highlights

Commonwealth Games 2026

Now is the time for businesses to step up to the starting block for Commonwealth Games. Get ready and be on your marks as the activity happens.

Great Eastern Offshore Wind

The fixed-bottom wind project will help to accelerate the offshore wind sector in Australia and support federal and state ambitions to reduce carbon emissions.

UGL - Victorian Regional Rolling Stock Maintenance Project

UGL has been shortlisted for the Victorian Regional Rolling Stock Maintenance Project.

Gateway by ICN

Use our powerful networking database to find your next project (big and small), or source the best suppliers across Australia and New Zealand.

Visit Site Login
Hero image
Hero image

Stay informed

Opportunities and insight delivered straight to your inbox. The latest procurement and supply chain news, events and projects in Australia and New Zealand. Just tell us your email address.


ICN help desk

Phone 1300 961 139 (within Australia)
Phone +61 2 6285 2033 (outside Australia)